LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[EASY PROBLEM] Pausing only One Loop

This is probably a very easy problem, but I am brand new to this LabView thing and after searching for a long while, I still have not found a solution.

This is my task:

"Write a VI that monitors a numerical control to see if the user has changed
the number being entered. Whenever the user does change the number,
your VI should make a normally green LED turn red for 0.5 seconds. Be
sure your VI monitors the input frequently, not just every 0.5 seconds."

My design is below. The problem is, when the number changes, the LED turns on, and the pause keeps the LED on for .5 sec, the number register pauses aswell. I DO NOT WANT THIS. As you can see, I added a second numeric to show me what the program sees the number value being. If the value changes faster than .5 sec, it doesnt register the change. This means (to me) that the wait is pausing both of the loops, when I only want it to pause the loop it is in.

Is there a way to fix this?

THANK YOU! ❤️

Untitled.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,405 Views)

You only have 1 loop, and that one pauses, yes. Side note: Numeric 2 is unnecessary as it'll always be the same as Numeric(1).

It'd be great idea to look at events and it'll be really easy to solve with that.

/Y 

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,394 Views)

New homework assignment, huh?

Read up on Event Structures to handle user actions.  A while loop can also be used for simpler but (usually)less expandable code.

There's a bunch of different ways to time actions.  Tick counter, Wait(ms), Elapsed Time, shift register counter, loop iteration count,etc.  All are included for a reason, you need to pick the most appropriate method.