LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dr. Damien's Development - Hard Drive Crashes

When you write software for a living, it is important to keep the code you write safe. This has several levels, but one that is often neglected is the physical level. What happens if your hard drive crashes or your motherboard dies? Let's look at a couple of experiences I have had.

When I was a young engineer designing medical devices at Hewlett–Packard Laboratories, the motherboard on my workstation failed, taking the hard drive with it. I was not using any sort of source code control. I was doing weekly backups at the time, and was somewhat lucky, I only lost a couple of days of work. But I also had to recreate my entire computer. I lost almost a week of time.

Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago. I was using a dedicated workstation to test a set of new build processes for the project I am working on. I came in Monday morning and noticed the machine had rebooted and halted in the ICH7 BIOS with a disk failed error. I rebooted the machine and ran the disk diagnostics to confirm the disk was actually bad. It was. Fortunately, the machine was set up with a RAID 5 disk system, so I replaced the drive, rebooted the machine, and I was back up with no loss of data and only an hour loss of time. The machine was slow for the day as it rebuilt the redundant information, but was usable.

What would have happened had the motherboard died, as happened in the first case? All code was under source code control and I was backing up anything not submitted on a nightly basis. I estimate I would have lost about a day of time and no code. This is a sharp contrast to the first case, where I lost about a week.