LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does a sub-vi require controls?

I've been writing LabVIEW programs for a couple of years but my programs are unwieldy because I never did understand the concept of sub-vi's I know they are supposed to be sub-routines but the places I need them in programs don't have controls or indicators. It is my understanding that sub-vi's require these, at least that's what the books say. Maybe a sub-vi isn't what I'm looking for. Is there a way in LabVIEW to save part of a program that doesn't have controls and indicators and use it over and over in other parts of the program. For example, I am now sampling 28 channels from 2 NI-4351 cards. 28 icons on the diagram take up a lot of space. Is there a way to reduce these to less icons since the all perform the same function?

Bob
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(2,841 Views)
Bob,

Think of a control as an input and an indicator as an output. They don't need to be shown on the screen, but they are the methods LabVIEW uses to puch variable data around. Any wire on your diagram can become either a control or an indicator on the front panel of a subVI.

Some of the icons on your unwieldy diagrams are actually subVIs. Double-click one and you will see its front panel. The wires going into the icon are connected to controls through the connector pane. The wires comming out are connected to indicators in the same fashion.

Controls and indicators are LabVIEW's answer to parameters in those primitive text languages.

- Dan
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(2,841 Views)
Dan,