From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Display data from measurement to waveform graf in labview

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I am stuck with a problem. I am quite new in labview and I want to display my data from measurement. On a functional generator I have a sine and measure this waveform with a multimeter. Subsequently measured progress I would need to see in a graph in labview. I want to somehow convert string data to waveform double. 
string to waveform.png

From visa read --> read buffer  I want to convert string data to waveform, if it is possible. 

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(4,177 Views)

To convert a string to double, use Scan From String or Fract/Ext String To Number.

Why a waveform? A Chart will display those values just fine if you simply wire a double to it (e.g. test with a random number). No need to make a waveform first.

If you must, you can use Build Waveform to put the double in a waveform. The Chart doesn't need it, although dT will probably adapt if you do use a waveform.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(4,158 Views)

it does not work because I need to process this data into one chart.data.png

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(4,151 Views)
Solution
Accepted by kajo97

@kajo97 wrote:

it does not work because I need to process this data into one chart.

Use Spreadsheet String To Array.  Be sure to set the comma as your delimiter and a 1D array of double as the array type.  If you live in a region where the comma is your decimal separator, then you need to set your format to "%.;%f".

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines