LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Developing a line tracer robot using Starter Kit 1.0, and AUTOCAD

Hi guys how are you?, I'm a graduate from Mechatronics, and I am developing a project for my master, but so far I don't know if there is something alike or that can make this lots easier. I explain what I want to do:

- First, I have a drawing of a house or warehouse or some place made in AUTOCAD. Like the drawings architects use for designing houses.

- Then in that drawing we have in some layer lines that should be traced by our robot, could be straight lines, curves or even some shapes. I remark that in the drawing the lines to be traced and the plane of the place itself are in separated layers, so it will be easy to separate them after identifying them.

- For this I have the starter kit robot 1.0, and it should be able to recognize its environment with help of the drawing and the sensor (I'm thinking in buying a camera also), and then to trace the lines marked in the drawing (for this I will use a simple actuator with a marker attached to it, and in the program i will send a signal to the ouputs when it's time to trace).

Now, I see two big "stages/challenges" in this project:

1.- Move autocad drawings to labview to a program that recognizes them.

2.- Make the robot able to locate itself in the environment and recognize it, this in order to trace the lines according to the drawings.

I have read that it can be fast to use a program that converts the autocad file (dxf) into a file of x, y, z coordinates, and done this labview can recognize them.

But reading also about vision module  I think about something like just loading the drawing file into labview and then labview generates it in 3D (with the help of some module), and then in some way just telling the robot to follow the lines marked in the drawing. Do you know how to do this?, or have something similar or that can help?