LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Develop a PWM

Hello,

I am new with LabVIEW and need some help with two subtasks.

"Light emitting diods (LEDs) can only be used within a very limited range of voltages. Below this range the diode will not work at all, above the voltage, the diod will burn. So its almost a binary state: LED on or LED off. But if you want to have a dimmable LED, you have to run the LED with a PWM. PWM stands for pulse-width-modulation. You switch the LED on and off for a very short periods. Your eye is not fast enough to follow and will see a mean value. Our PWM will be much slower, so that we can see the change between on and off."

Subtask 1

The basic programm should have the following features:

• A 'numeric control' to set the period length (during one period the LED be switched on and off one time)
  • An element where you can set the percentage of the period time the LED is switched on
  • A LED which is turned on and off by the PWM.
  • A button to stop/activate the PWM.

Subtask 2

• Add a second PWM, which automatically alternates from 0% pulse width to 100% pulse width within about 10 seconds.

I have come up with two solutions but they are both wrong. The solution should be something in between my two solutions but I have no idea how to proceed.

Grateful for all help I can get!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,943 Views)

Hi.

Are you using some NI hardware or custom Hardware or on what do you want to run the PWM?

I can not open your files as I am using an older version of labVIEW, Just curious to know Smiley Happy

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Learning is an endless process but needs to start some where
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,932 Views)

I took a quick look at your VIs - the first one is probably pretty close to what you need.