LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Determine the magnetic strength using labview

Hello

I am very new to LabView, my as part of my project I have to determine the strength of magnetic field using gaussmeter IGM11 (Hall effect sensor), IGM11 uses SCPI commands which has RS 232 (serial connection). I dont know how to start and read values from gaussmeter. little confused. I have tired few programs in labview but nothing as worked so far. Could any one help me.

I have one more question, I dont know whether this is the correct platform or not. Actually, when I connected gaussmeter to PC with the help of IGM11 Manuel, its is showing connection has not established. I have a doubt that Gaussmeter has IPV6 and my PC has IPV4. Will that be the problem for the connection. Do we connect different IP?! please let me know your suggestion. 

Thanks

Vijay

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,226 Views)

So it's a bit confusing. First you talk about RS-232, then suddenly about IPv6. From the datasheet I can find it seems to support EIA-232 (aka RS-232), USB and Ethernet 10MBit / 100MBit. 

If it supports IPv6 is not clear but considering that it is only a 10/100MBit interface, chances for that are not so high and even if it does, it certainly would be able to work as IPv4 device too.

There is nothing mentioned about SCPI in the datasheet, only RFC 854, which is basically Telnet and totally NOT like SCPI. It also doesn't specify the USB protocol class it supports. It may be USB-CDC (in which case the device will automatically appear as COM port in your PC when plugged in) but it could be just as much a proprietary USB protocol that only will work with their own software and drivers.

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(1,218 Views)

Dear Rolf,