From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Design Pattern using queues and notifiers and problem with syncing

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi

I am rearchitecturing a 4-channel data acquisition system which includes acquiring data, indexing the data between four channels, signal processing,  and data logging.

All processes are placed within a single loop, and I have since separated out the following into a producer and two consumer loop (or master with two slave loops), and use a queue to handle commands, and send the actual data through a notifier list. I am new at this, so I'm not sure how to go about rearhitecturing but am trying to move towards multiple loops. Instead of placing each channel into its own loop, I have used only 2 to save on having to rearchitecture everything.The acquired data is also indexed within the two loops (loop1, loop2):

Main loop: data acquisition (DAQ Assistant) where notifier sends data to consumer loops, queue for general commands

Loop1: reads (indexes 2D array), processes and logs the data for channels 1 and 2

Loop2: reads (indexes 2D array), processes and logs the data for channels 3 and 4

Question 1: Is it ok to use both notifier and queue in the artchiture (best practises)? I would like to use both queues but I find the program may have a lag (even though it doesn't miss any data) and that interrupts the acquisition for the user and I don't want that. I prefer the program to pick up real-time data, and so decided to use notifiers to send data to loops1&2. What are the caveats of this? Since I acquire at effective rate of 1S/s, perhaps this will be sufficient.