cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delete unwanted rows in 2D array when not knowing the index of which to delete

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi!

I am kind of new to Labview and I hope that someone can help me with my problem.

First I import a spreadsheet from Excel into a 2-D array of string. For each row in the array I then want to compare the data in a specific column (which is a date (time stamp)) with today's date. Rows containing a date with lower number than today's date I want to put into a new array and the rest I have no need for.

I have succeeded in creating a time stamp for today's date so that it is consistent with the Excel time stamp. But for the comparing and creating a new array part I have no idea about how to do it. I have tried numerous ways with no luck at all (probably because I don't understand all of the VIs that I need to use).

Happy for all help that I can get!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,875 Views)

Send the 2D array to a loop, which'll then loop through each and every row as a 1D array.

Grab column X with index array and convert to timestamp, compare with a timestamp of today, and if less than today, build array, else keep former array.

When all rows have been checked your built array should be the one you're looking for.

/Y

G# - Award winning reference based OOP for LV, for free! - Qestit VIPM GitHub

Qestit Systems
Certified-LabVIEW-Developer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,870 Views)

Thank you for the answer!

I (think) I understand the concept that you are telling me but there is one thing that I can't understand (I have attached a picture of what I believe you told me to do). I did not understand what to do when the comparison is false. What block should I use? Now the table after the loop is the same as it was before so nothing really happened.

Is the solution on the picture what you mean?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 5
(2,860 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Tokmas