LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Decimating for novice help

Solved!
Go to solution

1) I have 3 channels sampling at 30,000 samples per second for 60 seconds. I am handling the acquisition and putting the data in arrays of integers (I32).

2) I need to decimate them down to 100 samples per second in order to get rms noise from the white noise generated by the input of the shorted ADC.

To do this I need to ...

1) I have been given 3 filter coeffiecents files which I need to use in a multirate FIR filter.

2) The product of this needs to be used to calculate RMS and Mean.

I am not asking someone to solve this for me. But to state the feasability of using labview to run a multirate FIR with predetermined co-effiecents.

This is my first attempt at using FIR filters and my calculus is a little rust. So be gentle.

I have attached the first of 3 sets of coeffients.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,351 Views)

2nd coeffiecent

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,350 Views)

3rd coeffiecent

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,347 Views)

First of all, you can have 3 attachments to a single post (there's a little Add Attachment link below the attachment input to add more).  If you have more than that, zip them together and post the zip file.

LabVIEW will work just fine with what you are describing.  But to make your life really easy, just use the FIR Filter VI.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 4 of 6
(2,342 Views)

I tried using the FIR Filter.vi with coefficients calculated in Matlab and the results were not what I expected.

I tried using the same variables to build FIR Narrowband Coefficients VI. it produced different coefficients which can be expected. But it was 20 coefficients instead of 165.

fir1Sps.txt was from Matlab.