LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Database Connectivity Toolkit : How do I store RTF( Rich text files) into a database?

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to database concepts. I am developing a simple LabVIEW application that stores the user data inside the MySQL database. I have an activeX container that acts as a Rich Text Box. The RTBox allows user to paste contents into it. I understand that the DB should have a column with the datatype 'varbinary(MAX)' to store the RTF file. But how can I send the contents from the RichTextBox to the database directly?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,874 Views)

I don't think varbinary is necessary.  You should be able to store it as a text string.

Example_VI_BD.png

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,853 Views)

But the text string has a character limit and it might truncate the string after the limit. wouldn't it?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,850 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author OpenAI

I'm not sure what text string you are talking about that has a limit. MSSQL has a varchar(MAX) that used to be limited to 2GB in older versions, higher values in newer versions.  There is also a TEXT and a BLOB column type that overcomes row size limitations.  How big a' file are ya lookin' at?  (For some reason, I just thought of Roy D. Mercer and had to write it that way.)  Smiley Very Happy

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(4,845 Views)

The RTF text from the textbox has a lot of rtf characters and it doesn't get stored as text in the SQL DB

Here's the rtf text:

{\rtf1\fbidis\ansi\ansicpg1252\deff0\deflang1033{\fonttbl{\f0\fswiss\fprq2\fcharset0 Calibri;}{\f1\fnil\fcharset0 Microsoft Sans Serif;}}