LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data acquisition from an oscilloscope

Hi,

I am trying to build a program in Labview in order to acquire the data presented in the waveform of my oscilloscope. I am using a Rigol oscilloscope which is connected to the pc through a usb cable. I am trying to connect the oscilloscope to Labview via Visa. Moreover, the aim of my program is to first present in Labview the waveform depicted in the oscilloscope and secondly to acquire and save the data of the waveform. As I am relatively new to Labview could you please help me build up this program?

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(6,148 Views)

Hi John,

The first step would be to get your scope to communicate with the computer using a software provided by Rigol. 

Hopefully you can find some drivers for your Rigol instrument on the instrument drivers page or from Rigol's website. Once you get those, you will copy them your "instr.lib" folder, and then they will appear in the palettes.

Many drivers follow a similar pattern of Open Instrument -> Do Stuff -> Close Instrument. Try to search through the VI Tree and see if you can find the ones you need to do the stuff you want to do.

Once you have your data, there are a variety of ways to write it to a file. I find "Write Delimited Spreadsheet" works a lot of the time for me.

When you get stuck, post your code here (the VI, or a zip folder of VIs) and we will help you get unstuck. Good luck!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(6,140 Views)

Take a look at these links:

http://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niid_web_display.download_page?p_id_guid=88AF154718E95366E04400144FB7D2...

https://rigol.desk.com/customer/en/portal/articles/2272653-labview-2011-general-example-vi-for-ds-os...