From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DSC module and local variables

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi Folks,

I am a student embarked on a project to simualte a gas network using hte DSC module. I have generated a VI after much head scratching and hair pulling, which contains multiple local variables. I have just discovered that these do not work across the network. I am also now very pushed for time. Is there a quick fix for this, so as to save the integrity of the VI? I've included a copy of the VI.

any help is hugely appreciated at this stage, from a frstrated NewBee

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,981 Views)

Just go around and replace them one by one.  You can try right click > replace and pick shared variable once you maneuver through the menu.  (Create your shared variable library first so you can pick the appropriate shared variable.)  But it is probably easier to drag and drop the shared variables from your project library onto the block diagram, delete the local variable, then connect the shared variable.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(4,977 Views)

Hi Ravens Fan,

I tried with no success. I had the project already commenced with Shared variables created. I did get a message at the time warning about the shared variables and published data.

Following your suggestion I opened the library and the original VI (Gas1) upon which the project is based. I dragged across the shared variables one at a time, and replaced the local variables.

I had the construction of a HMI VI commenced, and deployed all. The HMI did not work.

When I tried to run the Gas1 VI subsequently, I got the error message, see file attached, for each shared variable I had changed out.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Download All
0 Kudos