From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DO signal continues after stopping VI

I am using the NI 9472 DO module to control a 24Vac motor.  The VI is able to turn the motor on and off, as well as measure the voltage pulses generated by the phototransistor, giving me the frequency.  I measure those pulses with the NI 9215 10V AI.

Here's my problem: whenever I stop the VI, the DO signal is still on and the motor is still running.  I tried creating a node to reinitialize to default, but when I turned it off, the signal was still on.  But when I started the VI back up, then the signal turned off.  I assume that the solution is simple, but I am still a beginner who isn't very good at troubleshooting.  Thanks for reading.Chopper.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,204 Views)

Assuming you are using the stop button (and not the abort button or [X] in the upper right), all you need is another motor write after the loop with a FALSE wired to it. You already have the task wire.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,189 Views)

Ok You have mastered the use of the wizard. Now you need to actually start learning LabVIEW. You need to set up a state machine and control the order that things are happening in your code. Right now you have now way to stop your motor before you stop your loop. That is why you are not stopping your motor when you hit stop.

Look at the state machine and try to make that work with what you are trying to accomplish. There is training links at the top of the LabVIEW discussion board.

Tim
GHSP
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(3,185 Views)

@aeastet wrote: