LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DIO Port Write/DIO Port Config

Hello;

I'm an absolute beginner at LabView, trying to bring an old VI (version 5.1.1) up to speed on another computer running Labview 8.5.

It's been mostly successful except for one thing: there is a subVI which uses the functions DIO Port Config and DIO Port Write. I have tried to replace them with what I can only assume are their equivalents: niHSDIO Write Script and niHSDIO Configure ???.

There are a lot of options for "Configure," none of which is an obvious fit.

I have seen other posts asking about these DIO Port files, and the suggestion there was to update the software to handle traditional DAQ so that the old DIO's would work. But I do not know how that could be done.

Thanks for any help you can lend.

-Ian

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 31
(12,682 Views)

Some years ago, NI did a total revamp of the NIDAQ drivers, the result was NIDAQ-MX.  By and large, it's faster and easier than the old NIDAQ (now called "Classic" or "Traditional" ) .

However, some boards got left behind, because they weren't being made any more. For those you have to use Classic, they're just not supported in NIDAQ-MX.

Since Classic hasn't been updated in some time, there are some newer boards which it will not support. 

You have to figure out:

1... If the board is supported under NIDAQ-MX, then you could upgrade all your code to run under MX.

2... If not, you could downgrade and install Classic NIDAQ, and run your code more or less as it is.

3... It's possible you have some boards which MX will not support and some that Classic will not support.  I don't know if, or how well, you can run both.  You might have to upgrade the boards in that case (I am not sure).

Message Edited by CoastalMaineBird on 03-19-2009 05:17 PM
Steve Bird
Culverson Software - Elegant software that is a pleasure to use.
Culverson.com

Blog for (mostly LabVIEW) programmers: Tips And Tricks

Message 2 of 31