LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DASport PCI-20450P-24 Labview driver?

Can anyone help me please. I am a novice user of labview. I have to interface Intelligent Instrument's Dasport (model above) with labview. I know I need a labview supporting driver (or do I?). Does anyone have one? Or can anyone point me in the right direction how I should go about creating it? I need a starting point.

I am a third year software engineering student, and I am doing this as part of my internship. I am studying labview as I am posting this message. I will appreciate any help.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,582 Views)
If the driver exists, you'll have to get it from Intelligent Instruments. If they don't have one, you'll have to write your won that accesses the Dasport .dll (if they use one). National only provides drivers for its own hardware.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,582 Views)
Some manufacterers do create LabVIEW drivers for their hardware. LabVIEW is very popular for test and measurement applications and manufacturers can often increase their sales by integrating their hardware with LabVIEW. Look on the manufacturer's site to see if they do offer such support. They may not provide it for free, but it might be easier to buy it than to develop your own. Otherwise,the drivers for the board likely include dlls and header files which serve as the programming interface for C and other environments. Creating a LabVIEW driver is just a matter of creating VIs that call the dll functions using Call Library Nodes. You should be able to create your own VIs if you are not fortunate enough to find somebody who has already done so.
Message 3 of 6
(2,582 Views)