From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQmx Hardware Timing Analog output

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I am using LabVIEW 2014 and i want write an aribtrary waveform to my NI cDAQ-9178 and module NI 9263 (for now simulated). The only problem i have is the timing, I am quite new in LabVIEW and with the hardware. I have already looked at the examples but this becomes not clear to me what i am doing wrong. I got the error 200077 and this says: Requested value is not a supported value for this property. The property value may be invalid because it conflicts with another property. 

If i change the order of start vi (so before or after the loop) I get the error 200547 which has something to do with buffer size. 

What I want is that the module generates a sample each 0,001 seconds i.e. 1000 Hz. How do i do this? And how do i make sure the module exactly generates a signal with 1000 Hz with simulated hardware? So how can i check this before i use non-simulated hardware?

I have two versions of this: one where i write 1 sample to the module each loop iteration and one where i write an array of 1000 samples to a buffer in the hardware. 

Thank you in advance! 

Willem

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,901 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author WillemNL

I made a few mods to your 2nd vi to show how you'd generate your pattern exactly 1 time using Finite Sampling with a 1000 Hz sample clock.  Of note: no more looping, just write the data to the task buffer and let the DAQmx driver do all the dirty work!

What I want is that the module generates a sample each 0,001 seconds i.e. 1000 Hz. How do i do this?