LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQMx - two counters, one inverse of the other

I have an NI USB-6363. I have a need to use two counter outputs, where the second counter is low when the first counter is high. The frequency ranges from 200 to 500Hz. I also need to switch counter 2 to be in sync (high when counter 1 is high) at the switch of a boolean control on the front panel. I am new to DAQMx and unsure of the best approach to do this. Some idea are:
1. Set idle state of counter 1 to high, and idle state of counter 2 to low.
2. Use a digital output hardwired to a digital input and use that input to trigger the second counter. I could put these in a loop along with a DAQMx counter write instruction?
3. User Immediate Routing to tie counter one to counter two with a logical invert?

Thanks in advance!

^TeraTech.

CAUTION! New LabVIEW adopters -- it's too late for me, but you *can* save yourself. The new subscription policy for LabVIEW puts NI's hand in your wallet for the rest of your working life. Are you sure you're *that* dedicated to LabVIEW? (Check out this lengthy post of mostly complaints)
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,283 Views)

Here's how I see it:

1. setting counter 2 idle state opposite counter 1 will help give you a reverse polarity.

Caution: I think I recall that once upon a long time ago, the "low time" and "high time" behaved opposite to my expectation when I set idle state to non-default.  I *think* that "low time" actually ended up meaning "time spent in idle state" while "high time" meant "time spent in non-idle state".  Hopefully that's all been ironed out over the course of newer boards and driver versions, etc.  Just be sure to check this out so you know for sure how it'll behave.

2. the polarity cannot be changed on the fly while the counters are running and generating pulses.  You'd need to stop, reconfigure, and restart counter 2.