cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQ newbie help on graphing

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

I am quite new to DAQs and programming in general, but my project is not very complicated in scope, so I hope to be able to do this with some help.This is more of how to use LabVIEW question, not an application specific question.

I am using a sample template program provided by LabVIEW: "Continuous Measurement and Logging (NI-DAQ)", and looking for a way for this program to show a graph value going from 850 to 1200 when it reads 0 to 10 V from a source.

Quite simply, 0v = 850 BTU and 10v = 1200 BTU, so each 1V is in 35 BTU steps.

I have the NI DAQ USB-6000 ordered so I can't play around with it plugged in yet, but looking to prep the program up a little to get going when it arrives.

Thank you so much for your help and I hope I provided a good enough context to be clear.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,258 Views)

Don't have LabVIEW with me, but look at the property nodes for the plot, specifically the y- scaling and offset; there you can add your offset and scaling factor.

mcduff

Message 2 of 7
(2,219 Views)

Well, suppose you read voltage from your DAQ device, and the values (in volts) go from 0 to 10.  You already know that 0 V = 850 BTU, 10 V = 1200 BTU, the relationship is linear, so BTU = 850 + 35 * V.

Suppose you have an array of Voltages (say, 1000 samples taken at 1 kHz).  Multiply the Array by 35, add 850, and Presto, you have 1000 BTU samples, just plot them!

There are excellent tutorials on DAQmx that you can find on the Web.  The scaling that I described above can even be done within DAQmx so that it outputs not in units of Volts, but directly in BTUs.

Bob Schor

Message 3 of 7
(2,207 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Buriza-doKaynon