LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQ Assistant vs. Producer-Consumer architecture

Hello all. I know my subject line is generic but bear with me. I'm a grad student looking for perspective on best programming practices based on what I've observed. Basically I think the way my research group does stuff is totally bogus and looking for some experts to back me up, or tell me I'm way over my head ...... haha .......

So my group places the DAQ Assistant and the Write to Measurement File Express VIs in a while loop for all of our acquisitions. Based on what I've read this architecture is very inefficient as the channels and write file are reconfigured every single loop iteration. Somehow, my group has managed to get data this way for a variety of applications.

Recently I used this style for a 1 Hz acquisition with two 9219 boards, measuring 4 channels on each. We don't have a nice compactDAQ chassis so each board is on a separate USB-9162 carrier. Given this setup, the acquisition gives Error -200279 after about 1 hour stating the application is not able to keep up with the hardware acquisition. My advisor said he has had success running the DAQ Assistant for each 9219 board in two separate VIs to get around this problem. This made me cringe. I also believe with two different USB-9162 carriers, the boards would be running on two separate clocks, is that correct? Which means they would not be properly synchronized?