LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating sub vis and projects

Hi, 

I am currently working on a project which involves a large chunk of Labview programming. I am new to Labview but am relatively experienced with C. I have designed an algorithm for C that I am currently trying to "translate" into Labview. The algorithm I have designed is a very modular piece of code, I have used a lot of smaller functions and called them in main rather than writing the entirety of the code in main. 

My problem is that I don't really understand the difference between Labview projects and using one main VI to call other subVIs. I am unaware of whether I would be better off using sub VIs held together in one main VI or would I be better to use a Labview project. I am on a very tight schedule as it is a rather large project so I don't have a lot of time to experiment with my code-writing. 

Does anyone have any advice on which approach is better/easier for an inexperienced user or if they are both pretty much the same?

Gillian

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,158 Views)

My problem is that I don't really understand the difference between Labview projects and using one main VI to call other subVIs. I am unaware of whether I would be better off using sub VIs held together in one main VI or would I be better to use a Labview project.

You can start without a LabVIEW project and code the "VI tree". 

However, as soon as you want to build an application or library, you must have a project.

Hope this helps, Guenter

Edit: The "main VI" is the so-called top-level VI that you select as the starting point - just like in C, where each application starts execution at the function "main()".

Message 2 of 4
(2,151 Views)

Hi,