LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating and destroying elements at runtime

Hello,

I am new in LV. I want to know how I can create and destroy elements while my app is running. Eg. dynamiccally arrange a set of controls.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,442 Views)

When you say destroy, do you mean remove from the program entirely?

Or perhaps you mean hide from view so that the user does not see them? Or maybe rearrange them on screen so that they look different?

The property node for visible lets you show/hide controls and indicators, and the positions can also be controlled by property nodes. At a guess this is probably what you are trying to achieve.

Ian

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,436 Views)

I want dynamiccally create a tree of devices and according to a different situation which the program may find at its start a different number of objects should be created. Later on the number of objects and its position within the tree should be possible to alter. So I do not only need to control the visuability property of some controls. I want to add and remove objects completely.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(2,431 Views)

You could look into scripting to programmatically create LabVIEW code. However, you said that you are new to this, so I would recommend getting the hang of the basics first before trying to master scripting.

Think carefully about what you are trying to achieve with the user interface, do you really need to fully remove objects? What is wrong with hiding them from view and replacing them with others?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(2,426 Views)