From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create a new 9870 port (MAX Refuses)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, all,

I have recently taken over LabVIEW support for a laboratory that uses cRIO 9067, including a 9870 RS-232 module.  Many units are in production, using LabVIEW 14.1; we have our own FPGA code.  Everything works, and I have been making changes to the code for about 9 months.  I am a multi-decade unix geek, but am new to LabVIEW.  The production units currently have working RS-232 connections to two external devices.

My problem is the cRIO I use for development.  I've been debugging cRIO RT and FPGA code on it successfully, but now I'm stuck attempting to develop a serial connection to a new power supply. According to MAX, it has exactly the same software inventory as the production machines, but it is missing the four VISA ports for the 9870.  MAX refuses to create them ("Either NI-VSA is not installed on this system [it is], or NI-VISA does not support creating new resources on this type of system").  BTW, I get the same message if I attempt to create a new serial port on a working production unit.

I think the development cRIO I inherited is simply not fully configured, as it's possible nobody yet had to test serial comms on it. The dev cRIO's module configuration is identical to the production units.

I notice there are /dev entries for the ports on the working systems (such as /dev/ttyNIRIOslot8port1), but not on my dev unit. 

If MAX is not the method to create NI-VISA serial ports on this configuration, what's the alternative?

Thanks for your help!

-- Mark

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,357 Views)