From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Counting and measuring energy of individual acoustic emission events

Hey Folks,

Can anyone tell me how to construct (or find) a VI that will count and measure discrete Acoustic Emission events from a material fracture waveform (I'm studying the fracture behavior of crispy foods via microphone and contact PE sensor)?  I know that the waveform peak finder will count ALL peaks within the waveform (with or without a timestamp), but I'd like to be able to count the number of individual hits corresponding to individual fractures within the material, and calculate the energy of each hit.

Thanks for the help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,744 Views)

Hello fooddude,

How are you getting this data into LabVIEW? 

What does the data look like when you get it in, and how does that correspond to the discrete Acoustic Emission events that you want to measure?

Colden
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,720 Views)

Hi Colden,