LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Counting Square Wave Analog Pulses per unit time

Hi,
I am somewhat new to LabView and have been experimenting with code to do the following::

- Sample a low-frequency (0 to 300 Hz) analog square wave signal. (This signal will be a pulse from a photo-interrupt optical switched external circuit creating a high pulse when interrupted.
- Want to determine the quantity: Pulses/second

I've tried using the Express VIs in the LabView version 8.5 (student ed.). These included Timing and Transition Measurements and Trigger/Gate in series with Statistics Express VIs. I understand that these VIs can be somewhat like black boxes, but I am not familiar enough with the ins-and- outs of G-code.

Using the Timing and Transition Measurement VI, I get an error stating "the signal did not cross the mid reference level enough times" when I turn down the input frequency to close to 0 Hz. We want to measure all the way down to and including 0 Hz (corresponding to a zero velocity).

We ultimately want to end up with a real-time plot of wheel speed versus time.

I have the DAQ 6009-USB Hardware.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

> Phil

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(8,660 Views)

Hello Phil,

In order to make a frequency measurement with the USB-6009 you will need to count the pulses and then use software timing to determine the elapsed time.  Many of the multifunction data acquisition (DAQ) cards are capable of directly measuring frequency, but for the USB-6009 the only supported counter input measurement is edge counting.

There is an example that demonstrates how to use the USB-6009 to count events.  Here's how you can access this example:

1.  Open LabVIEW.

2.  Go to Help>> Find Examples...

3.  Navigate to Hardware Input and Output>> DAQmx>> Counter Measurements>>  Count Digital Events>>  Count Digital Events.vi

This VI will run on the USB-6009 if you change the "Edge" control on the front panel to "Falling."