LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Counter not working, need troubleshooting.

We are using a labview program to control some instruments that gather force data and counts from a single DAQmx board. Currently our 2 main data signals are fed to a single AITask and this is fed to this code that was written years ago by someone we no longer have contact with. Currently I've got friction force reading out correctly but for the life of my I can't get the counter to read the data signal from the machine. I've verified that we have a clean signal in test panels but the value coming out of the counter is constantly zero. I am not sure if something is going wrong with the internal counter on the DAQmx or if there is simply something wrong with our code. I am an extreme novice at this. I am just looking to get it working again so we can gather data. Any help at all on this would be appreciated. I will upload the specific part of the code we are working on.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,840 Views)

Hi Chris,

comments on your VI:

Why do you need a stacked sequence when you can use DATAFLOW to enforce execution order?

Why don't you cleanup the code?

I did:

Why do you start the DAQmx task AFTER you read from the task?

Did you examine any of all those DAQmx example VIs in LabVIEW's example finder?

Why is that DAQmx task named "AItask"? Do you use just AI channels?

Why do you try to employ a "counter" functionality on an AI task? Counters use digital inputs, usually named PFIx…

Why do you mix DBL and integer datatypes so often, resulting in coercion dots?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,810 Views)