LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Correct time signal after Inverse FFT

I am using inverse FFT to rebuild the time signal from spectrum. Since Hanning window is applied during FFT, the rebuilt time signal is still windowed.
I am trying to divide this time signal directly by the hanning window. It works except two ends of the time data. Because Hanning function gives 0 at its two ends, I got infinity for these points when the data is divided by this 0. Is there anybody could tell me how to correct it?
Thanks!
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(5,134 Views)
Hello,

I'm not a signal processing expert, but it sounds like the correction in this case is going to be a design choice.  If the inversion operation you require happens to yield a division by 0, then your result isn't infinity - it's not even defined (division by 0 is not defined).  I suspect you'll want to play some numerical trick to get back your resulting time domain waveform, at least as best you can.  On the other hand, if you're using the fourier analysis and making decisions based on the windowed signals anyway, then perhaps it makes sense to simply look at the windowed signal in time as well.

Best Regards,

JLS
Best,
JLS
Sixclear
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(5,120 Views)
I am trying to get the visual effect of the un-windowed time signal. If there is no other way, I will use part of the acquired data without two ends. It looks ok. For further analysis, yes, definitely I will use the windowed data. Thanks for the reply.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(5,117 Views)

Also not an expert, but it seems to me that it'd be inherently impossible to recover those endpoints.  If X(i) is the original time domain data, H(i) is the hanning window function and Y(i) is the post-windowing data, then you've got a situation like:

Y(i) = X(i) * H(i).

At the 2 endpoints, this breaks down to:

0 = X(i) * 0