LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling separate VI's from one main VI

So I have been tasked to build this measurement setup (Kretshmann setup) which consists of two motorized rotation stages, spectrometer and a CCD. Since I'm new to LabVIEW the task seems pretty overwhelming, and I would really use some help. I already have separate VI's for each component and the idea is to make a single main VI which will control these. The main VI will have a loop of some kind which should call the subVI's when they are needed. Programming the mainVI or the logic behind when to call the subVI's is not a problem. The problem is that I don't know how to modify the VI's such that they can be used as a subVI in the main program. I dont know if this is even possible since they are designed to be standalone programs. Any suggestions? The VI's that I plan to use are listed below in attachments

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,997 Views)

Well it looks like you already understand the importance of using a proper program architecture like  a basic State Machine and try to do everything in "One Big Loop". (good for you!)

I would start with another State Machine and put these VI's inside. (Each individual test is a state)

Use your test plan as a guide. 

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,976 Views)

Do these three loops need to communicate with each other, or do you just want one central VI to access them?

If the three VIs are standalone, how about a main VI which uses subpanels to display the subVI? You could have one subpanel and swap which VI is inserted into it using buttons or a dropdown menu, or a tab control where each tab contains a subpanel.

You could also have the main VI use the queued message handler framework. Have a button call on the main VI the various Setup VIs, with the front panels of the Setup VIs set to pop-up when called.