LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling a stepper motor position with timing

Hey guys. 

I am trying to build a motion controlled data acquisition unit and I am in way over my head.  I am new to LabVIEW so bear with me.  

For starters I am using the NI USB-6212 with LabVIEW 2014 and a 200 steps/rev stepper motor.

The VI I am using is attached.  I am able to use it as written successfully to turn the motor but I am having trouble modifying it to do anything remotely like what I need.  

Essentially I want my VI to do the following:

-User presses a button on the front screen

-VI pauses for X seconds

-Motor turns for 1 rev (200 steps)

-Pause again for X seconds

-Repeat for X times

-Return to the starting position

-Break/ stop

Eventually I need to add in the motion of a linear actuator and data logging into the pauses of the stepper motor but I figure this is a good place to start.  

Any help at all will be greatly appreciated. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,361 Views)

You have a good start, getting the instrument to do what you want is the hardest part and it sounds like you've figured that out.

From the steps you listed, it sounds like you want to use a State Machine architecture. You can follow that link to see how that would function and LabVIEW also ships with a Simple State Machine template you could start from. Now, you have a whole bunch of parallel While loops that you don't need because all of that can go in the same loop. All of your pre-loop code would go in the "Initialize" state of your state machine and the post-loop code can all go in the "Exit" state. Read through that tutorial and check out LabVIEW's shipped template and you'll see what I'm talking about.