From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling System Time in a Unit Test

Solved!
Go to solution

Is there any way to control the system time returned from Get Date/Time in Seconds when unit testing a VI?  The VI I am attempting to test is very simple, but the output of the VI is entirely dependent on the system clock.  (See attached image.)

If there isn't any way to control the system time in this example, is there a better way to go about unit testing this VI?

I am using LabVIEW 2017 if that makes a difference.

(This is my first time using the unit test framework in LabVIEW and I'm sort of learning as I go, so I apologize if the answer to this is obvious.  I asked another developer with more experience this same question before I came here to ask for help.  They found the question very interesting but had no idea how to resolve the issue.)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,959 Views)

I'm not seeing the attachment in my opening post, so let's try that again.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,927 Views)
Solution
Accepted by eabrace

Not exactly a unit test VI, but you could call the VI in a FOR loop, and input an array of different time you want to test with.  Right-click the timestamp wire and Create Constant.  You can then build an array of these, each element of which you can edit the exact time.

Would this structure be helpful?

equinshadox_0-1605034118622.png

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,923 Views)

I think I managed to come up with a workaround, but I'm not entirely comfortable with it because it requires referencing a global variable.