LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling Dc power supply via RS232

Hello All , 

i need to control a DC power supply ( current , voltage )  via RS 232 . since i am new to this domain 

pls guide how to start a program and guidelines for me. i took some materials as a reference here i have attached for reference 

Youtube Link : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSm5tzY_ydA

In the attached VI program ( dll test.vi )  they have used call by library node . what is the use of that >? 

Thanks in advance !! 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(7,441 Views)

Hi Bhuvanesh,

The call library function node is used to call a DLL, if you double-click on it you will see which DLL it is calling and how the call is set up. I think they do this because they had written some code in C or C++ and just use LabVIEW as a wrapper.

Are you sure it is an RS 232 connection, and not a USB connection? You uploaded "USB_driver_EN.zip" which will probably not be useful for an RS 232 connection.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(7,436 Views)

What is the model of the DC power supply?

Have you read the manual and does it have any programming examples, even if they are in a text based programming language?

As others have mentioned are you using RS-232 or USB? Or possibly a USB to RS-232 converter?

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(7,418 Views)

Many of the DC supplies can be controlled via SCPI commands using the VISA (Write, Read, and Close) primitives after initializing (setting communication specifics) with the Serial Port Configuration.

Help the Community (and future reviewers) by marking posts as follows:
If it helped - KUDOS
If it answers the issue - SOLUTION
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 12
(7,401 Views)

Hi RTSLVU , 

The model of the DC power supply was ODA ex series . hereby i have attached the manual of the dc power supply 

Here we are using the Rs 232 serial communication only