LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Control analog output based on analog input

Dear forumers,

I am pretty new to the labview programming so excuse me if this was posted before.

I use: Labview 8.5 + PCI 6229

I want to create a real time feedback: to control analog output based on analog input. The task is very simple - if the ai1 (analog input 1) voltage is larger than a constant, then decrease the voltage of the ao1 (analog output 1) by a constant. Otherwise increase the voltage of ao1 by the same constant.

All should work for 10 seconds.

I have tried to implement this using 2 daq asistants and various methods. The problem is that I get the whole signal recorded from the ai1 ( 10 seconds) and then modified and released to the output (another 10 seconds). The execution takes 20 seconds instead of 10 and it is not realtime at all.

Is it a must to make vi in "run continuous" mode to make it work ?

Please help :}.

I am attaching 2 examples.

1. Main idea what I am trying to accomplish

2. Very simple example that still does not work in real time simultaneously.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,894 Views)

It's simple arithmetic. The number of samples divided by the sample rate is how long an acquisition will take. That is where the 10 seconds comes from. Reduce the number of samples read at once (i.e. 10). Then put everything in a loop that will terminate after 10 seconds. The Elapsed Time function is useful for that.

Do not use the run continuous button. It is for special debug use.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,890 Views)

Thank you for your suggestion.

I understand the simple arithmetic you are talking about. However I do not understand why it takes 20 seconds instead of 10 to complete the task. In other way to say - why it reads the whole input first (10 seconds) then write the output ( 10 seconds).

Why doesn't ir read and write simultaneously?