LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Consumer loop taking an excessive amount of time to execute

Hello,

I'm using a producer-consumer loop to log and perform some calculations on accelerometer data. With my current code I'm noticing the consumer loop takes an excessive amount of time to complete, roughly one iteration occurs per second. My samples to read per channel is set to 200 with a sampling frequency of 50000 Hz. I'm performing impact testing hence the high sampling frequency.

I've attached my code and would like some assistance with reducing the execution time of my consumer loop. Are there particular processes in my loop causing the lag i.e the loops within my consumer loop, integration blocks, etc?? If so, what might I do to reduce the execution time?

Also am I able to time different stages within the loop to determine what may be causing the lag?

I understand the code is cumbersome as i'm new to labview, at this stage the run time is the greatest cause of my concern. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,603 Views)

As the very first step, I'd recommend to cleanup the code - separate code into subVIs, nicely organize block diagram. Then you can start with time benchmarking.

The easiest time benchmarking - is to have FGV with "Set Time", "Calculate Elapsed Time" states, where you'll set initial time, and after that calculate, how much time has elapsed. Then you put this FGV into the code, and check timing.

Also, you have loop iterations - try to parallelize calculation, if possible. Check this link, it should be helpfull.

Then, instead of "Insert Into Array", use "Replace Array Subset". Now you init array for the second inner loop with 0 elements, and then do Insert. Instead, you need to init array with the expected number of elements, and then replace those elements inside of the loop. It'll be also faster.