LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting to Lakeshore 336 TempController Ethernet

Hello,

im very new to LabView programming and working with the MAX. I want to get control over the LakeShore 336 trough Ethernet in the first step and then with a ethernet connection to a cRio 9704 - System. (Can skip the first step, but i thought it is maybe not that difficult)

but I have already difficulties to see the TempController in the MAX system to configure it. It doesnt appear in VISA TCP/IP sysems or at Remote Control. Even if I search for the IP of the Controller it doesnt find it. I checked that the host-pc and the controller are in the same subnet. I think there could be an easy solution but I dont see it.

I would be thankful if someone can help me.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,746 Views)

I don't think you need to do anything in MAX to communicate with this device. You can use VISA to communicate with it however you can also use th enative TCP VIs. This instrument listens on port 7777. Simply open a connection using the IP address of the deviec and that port number. Once the connection is established send teh appropriate commands to the device. When necessary read the response.

The quick search I did showed there were LabVIEW drivers but they seemed to be for serial and GPIB. If these use VISA you should be able to use them with the network connection. Your VISA resource name would be TCPIP::<IP Address>::7777::SOCKET. (Replace "<IP Address>" with the correct address.

Mark Yedinak
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"Does anyone know where the love of God goes when the waves turn the minutes to hours?"
Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald - Gordon Lightfoot
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,740 Views)

Hello,