LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configuring an NI cDAQ-9174 chassis

Hi All,

I've just recently purchased a NI cDAQ chassis, along with a analogue input BNC module and thermocouple module. I'm looking to take readings from both modules simultaneously. I've created a vi to run this simulation but I can only get temperature to run properly from the chassis.

When I run the voltage, it records sample data for a very limited no. of samples.

It does this even if asked to record 1k's worth of samples at a given frequency. The simulation will tend to run for a maximum of 600ms at best. Is there something I'm missing?

I'm very new to LABVIEW so any help would be most appreciated.

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,852 Views)

show some VIs, it will be more likely people can help you here.

There are nice examples in LabView how to do DAQ with DAQmx VIs:

start LabView -> Help -> Find Examples -> Hardware input and output -> DAQmx -> Analog input.

And you can try the Voltage - Continuous Input.vi for example...

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,847 Views)

Thanks for your keen response. Please find the VI I have so far! I will have a look at the examples you've discussed

Best Regards

Craig

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 7
(3,832 Views)

Oh boy.  Well yes I highly recommend going through some of the links I showed when you get a chance.

General comments:

You should never ever use the Run Continuous button in the toolbar

You should never ever use the Abort VI button in the toolbar

I highly recommend not using DAQ Assistant or Express VIs, but I can't say it is wrong to use them.

I highly recommend not using dynamic data type, but I can't say it is wrong to use them.

Go to Help >> Example Finder, and search for Voltage Continuous Input.  It shows you how to take voltage readings, set up timing and triggering, log to file, and display it with a proper stop not an Abort.