From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configure 6225 in PXi to communicate with PC

I'm a relatively experienced LV programmer but am struggling a bit with the folowing.  I want to use an NI-6225 installed in a PXi chassis to do data acquisition.  I would prefer to run the program on a PC rather than download it to the PXi RT module, but am having trouble finding the PXi in my LV device lists.  My physical set-up is as follows:

I have a PC running LV 7.1.1 and LV2009, which is being used for the development.  I will eventually port this to another machine as an exe and run it with the runtime engine.  The PXi is on a Static IP on the LAN.  I can access it using VISA and am using the built-in serial port to control an external voltage source which will then generate signals to be read into the ADC. 

I spent some time trying to set up a virtual channel via MAX, but it complained that my software on the target and on my PC were different versions. Before i start down any course of upgrading software, etc. I would like to understand what I am trying to do.  Is it possible to use the NI-6225 as a remote ADC or do I have to run the application on the PXi?

Any help appreciated...

thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,278 Views)

Hey

So your System Setup ist something like this:

HostPC(LV for Windows) -------- Ethernet --------> PXI (LV Realtime) --------------> DAQ Card

With this setup you typically would have a realtime application doing the data acquisition in a time critical loop and transfering the data to the host with a normal priority loop.