cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Compare two sound signals in motors when varying load conditions

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Everyone,

I am very new to LabVIEW and DSP. I am trying to analyse the acoustic signature of a motor to identify the defects. But still, I am struggling with LabVIEW. I appreciate a few clarifications for the following,

1. To take the difference in amplitude and plot a graph time vs change of amplitude 

2. How to derive an equation from the plotted graph in no. 1 

Please help me out to clarify the above matters. My work up to now is attached, may be very primitive. But I am trying to improve myself. (I am using LabVIEW 2013.) 

Thanks 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(3,075 Views)

Hello, 

could you clarify your request better?

1. To take the difference in amplitude and plot a graph time vs change of amplitude 

Have you got two traces and you have to make the difference between the first and the second?

In this case you can see the attached picture.

2. How to derive an equation from the plotted graph in no. 1  

You can use the function that you find on Integration & Differentiation Mathematics palette.

Best regards,

Fabio

Message 2 of 16
(3,043 Views)

Hi Fabio,

Thanks for your reply. 

1. Yes, I have two recorded sounds and I want to determine the difference between these two sounds. I am planning to do that using amplitudes by taking the difference of them. Then plot the graph time vs difference of amplitude.

Let say, First sound has an amplitude of "A" and second has an amplitude of "B". Now I want to measure these amplitudes separately and take the difference that is (A-B). Then I want to plot the graph time vs (A-B). Hope now clear for you. 

2.  I saw the attached picture. It has only one file path, but in my case, I want to compare two of them. Could you please clarify me this because I am still learning LabVIEW.

Thanks and Regards,

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(3,030 Views)

Hello,