LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communication Issue between Driver and Analytical Balance (Mettler Toledo MS3001S)

Hi,

I am new to LabView need some help. I am trying to create a LabView VI that can read weight values from an analytical balance. There is no driver for the scale I use (Mettler Toledo MS3001S) but a technician from Mettler Toledo recommended that I use the driver for the XS6001M or XS6001S models because they have the same readability and capacity. For both drivers, I opened and tried to run an example VI called 'Mettler Toledo Balances Weight.vi.' However I keep getting the following errors:

Error -1073807343 occurred at VISA Open in Mettler Toledo Balances.lvlib:Initialize.vi->Mettler Toledo Balances Weight.vi. Possible reason(s): VISA: (Hex 0xBFFF0011) Insufficient location information or the device or resource is not present in the system.

I assume that this is because the balance is connected to a different port than the default ('ASLR1'), so I tried the 'COM3' option and got this error:

Error -1074003951 occurred at an unidentified location. Possible reason(s): MTTx Initialize. The ID Query failed. This may mean that you selected the wrong instrument or your instrument did not respond. You may also be using a model that is not officially supported by this driver. If you are sure that you have selected the correct instrument and it is responding, try disabling the ID Query.

Finally, I tried the 'COM4' option just in case that might work, and got this error:

Error -1073807339 occurred at VISA Read in Mettler Toledo Balances.lvlib:Read.vi->Mettler Toledo Balances.lvlib:Command.vi->Mettler Toledo Balances.lvlib:Initialize.vi->Mettler Toledo Balances Weight.vi. Possible reason(s): VISA: (Hex 0xBFFF0015) Timeout expired before operation completed.