From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Communicating with the Linux OS on RoboRio

Ok So here is the issues. There is a hang issues witht he USB port on the roboRIO. This the the device that is used in FIRST robotics. It is using the Linux real time OS that is running in most of NI real time systems. I am a software developer for one of the 3rd party devices that is used. We have been working with NI for a while now to get all fo the bugs worked out tof the USB on the roboRIO. They told us that they would not be able to get to the problem of this hang issues before kick off Saturday Jan 7th 2017. They told us to go through the linux os because the VISA is where the hang problem resides.

They told me:

"the VISA Resource indicator to run from the OS Resource indicator instead. You could then use this modified VI as part of your own Serial open which sets up the port by calling into libc.so instead of using VISA."

I did this and got errors that they resourse name was not valid.

Next they told me to access the libc.so directly using a Call Library Function Node.

I have done this before when I had access to the DLL on my computer but I have not had succes with trying to get the information I need to configure the libc.so. I cannot find documentation and I am not skilled enough to do this my self. We would like to be able to get this working before Saturday.

I work for free so I am not making money on this. I am simply helping the FIRST community get better products to run thier robots.

Thanks in advance.

Tim

Tim
GHSP
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,552 Views)

Hi Tim,