LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Combustion Engine DAQ - Plotting averages of two inputs against each other

Hello everyone,

First, I apologize in advance as I'm sure this question has been answered on these boards. I'm new to Labview and have very little programming background so I'm struggling to even find the correct keywords to google. Perhaps someone can point me in the right direction and I can continue to teach myself.

I'm a combustion researcher building an instrumented diesel engine. I have a rotary encoder on the crankshaft and a pressure transducer mounted in the head, reading the combustion chamber. All this is running through a NI USB-6212 DAQ and Labview 2011. I've got my encoder reading in analog mode, where as I rotate it through one revolution the voltage increases from 0 to around 3.5V then zeroes again when it completes a revolution. The transducer is also reading correctly, though I anticipate having to put in more data filtering and processing.

What I would like to do is plot them against each other in such a way that it continues to create an averaged pressure trace. Basically, for each X value of rotation, it'll take the incoming pressure data and average them. So for 2.25 volts, which would correspond to a certain point in the engine rotation, it takes each successive pressure point as the engine spins and averages them. Eventually this will create accurate pressure traces of one revolution of combustion. (It's actually a 4 stroke motor so I would essentially have to take every other data point but I'm sure I can figure that out).

I have an XY Graph but it doesn't log the data, only showing a few recent data points at a time. I'll also need to add in data analysis to do the averaging, but right now I'm just trying to look at a running pressure trace to determine how accurate the system is.