cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Code not running once it's in a project

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone.

I am new to using Labview and have encountered a problem that I do not understand the nature of, I hope you can help me.
I have created a state machine to allow me to restart the code inside the VI after pausing it.
The code runs correctly and does its job if I run it as a simple VI; however once I implement it into a cRIO 9045 project, the event structure does not trigger on command.
What could be the problem?
I hope I have explained myself with the correct terminology.
I attach the simple VI

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(903 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author SpaceCowboy90

Hi Cowboy,

@SpaceCowboy90 wrote:

I have created a state machine to allow me to restart the code inside the VI after pausing it.
The code runs correctly and does its job if I run it as a simple VI; however once I implement it into a cRIO 9045 project, the event structure does not trigger on command.
What could be the problem?

Two reasons:

1. Don't use "default if unwired" tunnels like you do in your statemachine: always provide meaningful outputs for each case/state!
  2. Main reason: RIO devices (usually) don't support user interfaces as they don't support to attach displays/monitors! Because of this they also don't support the event structure as good as a usual Windows target: when there is no user interface then there is no way to detect any value change events of buttons on your frontpanel!

Suggestion:

Examine all those example projects coming with LabVIEW and RT module: they explain how to exchange data and commands between a PC host and a cRIO target…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 4
(900 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author SpaceCowboy90

Read the extended help for the event structure on an RT target:

Real-Time Module Details