Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Closing the Front panel

Solved!
Go to solution

@crossrulz wrote:

@James_W wrote:

Don't forget that in an Executable, closing the front panel of the main VI does not stop the process or remove it from memory.

you will need to call the 'Exit LabVIEW' function as well! (Found on the application control palette).

NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  That is 100% WRONG.  When all front panels are closed, the application will stop and the runtime engine will close.  So DO NOT use the Exit LabVIEW function.  And make sure all of your code is actually complete before that last panel gets closed because it will cause an abort (I have many years of experience debugging that issue).

Oh - I'm sure I was taught that years ago on a Basics 1 / 2 course and not working with a large enough team I have never been taught any different.

I always put it in as the last action in the runtime environment shutdown case to ensure all memory is released and everything is closed in case of thread hangs.

- didn't even get a comment on that when I only just failed the CLA 2 years ago.

I wonder what I've been missing all these years - looks like I need to take another look again.

Thanks crossrulz.

James

CLD; LabVIEW since 8.0, Currently have LabVIEW 2015 SP1, 2018SP1 & 2020 installed
0 Kudos
Message 11 of 14
(1,207 Views)

Typically, for VI compiled to executable:

1) Disable the tool bar ( disable all the run/run-continuously things). Typical Windows application user do not understand those and will not use them correctly. Generally I would disable the menu also, since most of the entries do not help anyway.

2) Disable the Close Window X. Do not let user close the front panel window. VI is still running after clicking X to close the window, then the app is stuck...