Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Charging of capacitor, timing and flat-sequence struture

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello:)

First I'll give you some information about my project:

I'm quite new to Labview, but I have programmed alot with C++/C/Assembly. The attached program is a small part of a bigger system, but I made a quick version of it, just to get the hang of it. A capacitor (image) will be charged up to 3,3V. I'll do two measurement at 2,5 V and 3,3 V, at about 3 tau and 5 tau of the charging. There are some timelimits and it's here I got some problems.

22138iD8C205E048205844

Sequence:

• From start the signal have to be 0V for atleast 300 ms.
  • The the capacitor have to reach atleast 2,5V within 430 ms from start.
  • Then the capacitor have to reach 3,3 V within a maximum of 510 ms from start.

My attached program is built in a flat-sequence structure (maybe statemachine is better?). If I change the "Wait 300 ms" to "Wait 80" ms, the first time-check will pass. If I use 300 ms, the first time-check is about 600 ms and the last 950 ms (It should have been 430 ms  - 300 ms = 130 ms, and 510 ms).

I'm not asking you to make anything for me, but maybe give me a hint where to look. Would a statemachine do better than the flat-sequence? Am I on the right track regarding time-checking, or is the Tick Count useless in this case?

Is the code within the Ruby Goldberg category?

Extra info: I got LV 2009 and 2010, but only the basic versions. The DAQ in my program can be replaced with a signalgenerator of 2,5 V and 3,3 V just for testing.

I think the program does its job, but my timing is not on track.

Thanks for any help.

Regards,

Even

Regards,
Even

Automated Test Developer
Topro AS
Norway
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(3,643 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author EvenDeejay