LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change speed of stepper motor

Hi,

I'm a student and for a part of my thesis I need to control a stepper motor. For this I'm using a leadshine M542 driver and I control the driver with a NI9472 module. Moving from one point to another works. But when I start the motor needs to gradually speed up. Could someone help me to implement that code (I tried, see VI but it doesn't work)?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,477 Views)

If you want the motor to constantly run, you should set the "Sample Mode" input of the DAQmx Timing VI to be Continuous.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,471 Views)

Hi,

But I need to do a certain distance. So I need to tell how much steps it has to do, isn't it?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(4,462 Views)

1. You would want to set your DO direction bit one time, outside the main loop, and be sure it's written before you start the Counter output task that issues step pulses.

2. According to the spec sheet, your 9472 doesn't *have* any counters, so, uh, there's *that*.

3. What's the larger context for this stepper motor motion?   Clearly you're looking for precise positioning.  How important are top speeds, motion times and motion smoothness?   The more you care about those things, the more important it will be to generate a friendly trajectory.

-Kevin P

CAUTION! New LabVIEW adopters -- it's too late for me, but you *can* save yourself. The new subscription policy for LabVIEW puts NI's hand in your wallet for the rest of your working life. Are you sure you're *that* dedicated to LabVIEW? (Summary of my reasons in this post, part of a voluminous thread of mostly complaints starting here).
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(4,436 Views)