LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot get CIN source code to compile because of extcode.h

I am an undergraduate doing physics research and I am quite new to both LabVIEW and C++.  I am using LabVIEW to generate an output file that contains information that a fitting program uses to make a fit.  One part of the LabVIEW program takes 8200 pieces of data and formats them in the correct way in the output file.  Unfortunately, it was taking several minutes to do this, and since I use this program about a hundred times each day it was becoming very inconvenient. 

So I wrote a program in C++ (Microsoft Visual C++ version 6.0) that puts this data in the output file correctly formatted and does so in a fraction of a second.  Now I would like to use a CIN to execute this program within LabVIEW.  I have two main questions:

1.  I have followed the steps in the "Using External Code in LabVIEW" manual through step 4.  I inserted my code, which compiles and functions properly by itself, into the /* Insert code here */ line of the .c file that was created from the CIN node, and left everything else as it is.  When I try to compile the CIN source code in Visual C++, it gives me this error: "fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'extcode.h': No such file or directory  Error executing cl.exe."  Why am I getting this error?

2.  My C++ program doesn't require any interaction with the rest of the LabVIEW program.  Basically, it should open, write data to a file, and then close.  The rest of the LabVIEW program further modifies the file.  Is it possible to run it without any output connected to the CIN node?  If not, what changes do I have to make to my C++ code to output, say, just a string indicating the program is done running? 

Thank you,
Evan
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,043 Views)