LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can we Protect & lock a folder using labview?

Hi all

First of all i am a beginner. My data is stored in a particular folder and i don't want the user to find it out and open the content.. This content of folder will be used frequently by application (read & write). Please help me...

Thanks & Regards

Rajesh R. Nair

Rajesh Raghavan Nair

Certified LabVIEW Architect
Certified Teststand Architect
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(5,261 Views)

This is more of an Operating System feature. Which OS are you using?

There is a Set Permissions function available under the Advanced File Functions which may do the trick.

But if the user has Admin privileges, they could change the permissions and then do the changes to the files. It depends how well they know how to hack within a given OS.

This is what the function looks like:

Now, if you wanted them to see gibberish when opening the file and thus preventing them to know how to modify it or what to modify, then that might be the way to go.

I think I accomplished that once by doing something as simple as saving a cluster of data as a binary file.  It can be easily restored by doing the steps in reverse. 

Message 2 of 10
(5,251 Views)

The first step would be to store the data in the appropriate folder: application data

ApplicationData.png

This folder is normally stored in the users profile and specifically created for such uses.

It is advisable to create a special sub-folder for you application.

Ton

Free Code Capture Tool! Version 2.1.3 with comments, web-upload, back-save and snippets!
Nederlandse LabVIEW user groep www.lvug.nl
My LabVIEW Ideas

LabVIEW, programming like it should be!
Message 3 of 10
(5,236 Views)

Hi Ton,

What I meant by:

@Ray.R wrote:

But if the user has Admin privileges, they could change the permissions and then do the changes to the files. It depends how well they know how to hack within a given OS.