LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get 3 PXIe tasks to start simultaneously

First I will say that I am not running this test vi on the hardware - I'm simulating the modules in MAX. Maybe the test vi will give different results on the actual hardware?  The hardware is as follows:

PXIe-1084 Chassis

Slot 1 - PXIe-8381

Slots 2 - 16 PXIe-4300's

Slot 17 - PXIe-4302

Slot 18 - PXIe-4353

The task is to acquire data from the three different module types simultaneously at their max sample rates.

What I am seeing is a 200ms spread between the time the first task acquires data and when the last task acquires data. The two slaves tasks are within 5oms of each other but I would expect all to be snchronized.

Does the technique I am using to synchronize the tasks look correct?

The distribution of the trigger - correct?

I don't have a designated "master" module like I remember doing with SCXI.  I have a master task compromised of the 4300 modules - is this a problem?

Any comments on the code, synchronization, trigger distribution, would be appreciated and helpful

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(866 Views)

First and foremost, simulated devices can be handy, especially for confirming syntax and capabilities, but they are NOT in any way suitable for drawing conclusions about sync and triggering.  They were never meant to be.  Tasks simply behave as though all clock and trigger signals are present and available from the instant you start them.

Beyond that, a few comments on the code but first some background.

I've been in several sync-related threads where people ran into problems following an approach that looks just like yours.  I'm pretty sure they're all starting from a common example.  Almost inevitably, the solution is to rip out most of the sync-related code that's based on Ref Clocks, Sync Pulses, and Master-Slave designations.  Sometimes the triggering as well.