LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can someone help me understand this voltage data from a leg of 480VAC?

I'm setting up a cRIO to monitor our building's incoming power, but to be honest, I'm not an expert at AC power. Can someone help me decipher what this chart is telling me? The chart is only graphing L1 at a time rate of 8ms. The analog card I'm using is an NI 9244.

L1 voltage.png

First thing I was surprised about was the positive and negative values. Yes, I know AC current alternates between positive and negative 60 times a second here in the USA. But I'm used to using multimeters where it displays a consistent, "positive" value. So I'm guessing this analog card gives me ALL the literal raw data, and then I have to get the Vrms myself with my code?

According to the NI 9244 datasheet, each input gives me the voltage from line to neutral. I'm surprised to see it peaking to +/-400. Normally a multimeter shows 277VAC. Why is that? I don't think this is a NI cRIO question, but just an AC power question in general.

It also seems to be quite the coincidence that my data is showing the voltage going all the way to +/- 400VAC and the datasheet states that it is 400 Vrms L-N. And so now I'm wondering is some of my data getting cut off? Even though it should only be 277? I'm definitely confused on this part.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(880 Views)

Yes the analog value measured is an instantaneous measurement not some RMS. And the RMS value of an AC signal is sqrt(2) = 1.41 times smaller than the sine peak value.