LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can Labview be used to control Bronkhorst Mass Flow Controllers?

I need to develop a control system for some Bronkhorst Mass Flow Controllers.  I have never used LabView before but have been advised that this program should allow me to do this.  Does anyone have any experience of this application of LabView.

The precise application I have is as follows:

I have three MFC's covering complementary flow ranges and wish to cluster these into a single array.

Separately I have two MFC's covering complementary flow ranges and wish to cluster these into a single array.

I then wish to make the array of 3 operate as a slave to the array of 2, so that the array of 3 always delivers a fixed proportion of the array of two.

The total flow delivered by the two arrays should be controllers by the input from a pressure transducer, so that if the pressure drops from a set point, the MFC's will feed gas at a proportionate rate, to keep the pressure constant.

Does this sound feasible.  I can elaborate greatly if anyone is interested.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(5,408 Views)

Since LabVIEW is a programming language (like C is a programming language), then what you can do quite a lot with it. What you are describing is a simple algorithm, and the algorithm can be written in any language, including C. I would suggest, however, that before you work on the implementation of the algorithm that you know how you will actually be controlling the Mass Flow Controllers. How does one communicate with these? Are the serial devices? GPIB? The Instrument Driver Network does not appear to have drivers for these, so you should first check with the manufacturer to find out if they have LabVIEW drivers. If not, then you will need to develop drivers, and how you do this depends on the method of communication.