LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use C/C++ code with ComapctRio 9104 RT controller?

Hi,
I am new to the use of CompactRIo.I have Compactrio 9104/9004 device.I want to use C/C++ code with the 9104 RT controller i.e. after i have written that code can i download into that the CRio 9104 target.If it can be done can anybody explain please?

Regards,
Vishnu
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,092 Views)
Hi Vishnu,

I am assuming you are talking about the cRIO-9014 controller.  The cRIO-901x series controllers run VxWorks where C/C++ code can be compiled to .out files.  This is opposed to the cRIO-900x series controllers which run Pharlap and run C/C++ code compiled into .dll files.  Both .out and .dll files are called 'shared library' files, which can be called from LabVIEW.  More information about compiling .out files can be found by following the links below.

Calling External Code on cRIO-9010 Series Controllers
Developing Shared Libraries for the cRIO-901x and Other VxWorks Targets

For more information on calling shared library code from LabVIEW, consult LabVIEW Help » Fundamentals » Calling Code Written in Text-Based Programming Languages » Concepts » Using External Code in LabVIEW, and NI Developer Zone: An Overview of Accessing DLLs or Shared Libraries from LabVIEW.

Please let me know if you have any other questions, thanks Vishnu!

Regards,
Erik J.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
Message 2 of 11
(5,064 Views)
Hi,
I am sorry i said to you the wrong controller number, the controller i am using is the Crio 9004 and the chasis is 9104.Can i use C/C++ code with the 9004 embedded controller, if so please tell me how to do that?

Thanks,
Vishnu
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(5,033 Views)
Hi Vishnu,

The cRIO-9004 controller can run C/C++ code, but the code must be first compiled into a DLL.  You would need to call the DLL from LabVIEW RT.